Public comment at 1/3/11 RAC meeting: Sommer Gentry

[Ms. Gentry presented the following play.]

BULLY:   Stop there, I’ve got to look in your bag so I know what you are carrying.
RIDER:  Actually, it’s none of your business what I’m carrying.  Do you have probable cause to search me?
BULLY:  grumble grumble Security! grumble grumble Terrorism!
RIDER: I do not consent to search.
BULLY: DO you want to ride the Metro today!
RIDER: You know what, no, I don’t want to ride the Metro if it means giving up my privacy.  I’m going to walk to the next station!

Five minutes later…………..
RIDER:  Hmm, no bullies here!  I guess I’ll just ride the Metro unmolested.  Now how exactly is their plan keeping anyone safe from anything?

Five years later……………
BULLY:  You, peon!  Submit immediately to my irradiating strip search scanner or I’ll put my hands all over your vagina!
RIDER:  You can forget it!   I’ll just walk where I’m going.
BULLY:  You’ll have to pass my walking-down-the-street checkpoint first!
RIDER:  So exactly where am I free of suspicionless searches?
BULLY:  Only when you’re locked in your basement.

And that’s called the slippery slope …………………..
ME:  TSA, get out of my Metro.  You are not welcome here.  Get out of my airport, get out of my bus station, and get out of my country.  Your security theater is fooling no one.  We, the people, will defeat you.

This entry was posted in Post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Public comment at 1/3/11 RAC meeting: Sommer Gentry

  1. Pingback: Bag search opponents swamp Metro Riders Advisory Council meeting | Montgomery County Civil Rights Coalition

  2. Pingback: Sommer Gentry’s anti-bag search play | Montgomery County Civil Rights Coalition

Leave a Reply

